iPhone Siri for iPhone 4S.

iPhone Siri.

What Can't It Help You With?

I am addicted to this technology, for crying out loud. I just needed to put that out there.

It is one of the most poignant things that Apple have added to their latest smartphone, the iPhone 4S. It stands for Speech Interpretation and Recognition Interface, and allows you to perform tasks just by the use of your voice. Almost like a tiny robot living in your phone to which you can ask questions, and it replies to you 🙂

You can ask it almost anything, what the weather is like, what the time is in Paris. You can ask it to do things for you, such as note things in Notepad, to call or send messages to people, to search for things on the Internet, set reminders or alarms, and to play specific songs for you on your built-in iPod. It works with your iPhone’s earphones also, if you’re on the go and want music changed it will do this for you if you click the button on the earphones to activate Siri.

It does have funny responses for questions.

“Are you a boy or a girl?” (OK, not so crazy) to which it will respond “Is this relevant?”

“Do you know any jokes?”
“No, I always forget the punch line.”

“Are you single?”
“I don’t have marital status.”
“Why?”
“I don’t know, frankly, I’ve wondered that myself.”

It can keep the soft-hearted like me amused for a while is what I’m trying to say here.

I know people have their different views about it but I think it is insanely clever, and I like how Siri has three settings for English; UK, US and Australian. It shows Apple have thought about the accent differences and will make Siri that much more sensitive to recognising what the commands are. I do think that different dialects within countries such as the UK will become more recognised on Siri as time goes on, as I think that could be a complaint some people have. But me, having a completely standard English accent, has no problem.

I do recommend it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

