“Just Because It’s In Print Doesn’t Mean It’s The Gospel.”

The title quote is by an extremely clever, sensitive man, the late Michael Jackson. I say he is clever because as well as being well read, I have been looking over a number of his videos and articles since the day of his passing, and I have come to learn he was an incredibly wise and knowledgeable individual. I think what you class as intelligence differs from people, and to me, spiritual intelligence and LIFE knowledge is what is so valuable.

I want to share a couple of the inspirational things I picked up from my time looking at his interviews and various online materials. It will illustrate that he was an incredible human being, entertainment aside. He was a veteran before he was a teenager, and a humanitarian before a human.

“Before you know if you have red hair or brown, before you know if you are black or white, before you know of what religion you are a part, you have to know that you are loved.”

"Bad" Era

“In a world filled with hate…
We must still dare to hope.
In a world filled with anger…
We must still dare to comfort.
In a world filled with despair…
We must still dare to dream.
And, in a world filled with distrust…
We must still dare to believe.”

Man in the Mirror

“That one in the mirror has his doubts, sometimes. So, I am tender with him. Every morning, I touch the mirror and whisper, ‘Oh, friend, I hear a dance. Will you be my partner? Come.'”

During an Interview in 1983 he talks about his inspirations, as the Sun goes down…

Michael pauses his interview to giggle "Boy, get out of her ear!" to someone behind the camera.

“[Dusk] is really magic to me because it’s like a painting, I’s very artistic. It’s magic. [Sings] It’s so wonderful! Just the sound of water is magic. It’s so beautiful. I think with any type of creation you create what’s inside of you, subconsciously, what enthuses you. I’m a fantasy fanatic and anything that can take you off into another world, escapism, um, that’s what I like. I’m not so crazy about the reality of everything, I like the fantasy and that’s why I create, to get away, to become moved.  [Sings] To become moved! (Breaks into song) It’s magic. It’s hard to explain it. Boy, I could just jump up, I swear, and take off. I might do it. You can feel, um, the energy, in everything around me. You can feel the Moon, the plants, everything around me. It’s wonderful. I, um, I think nature, animals and all those things are very inspirational to my work. I play off of those things – and children. It stimulates ideas, um, creates all kinds of things I just can’t tell you. I think the majority of my success is from these sources – People think, ‘Well, go into detail!’ But it’s hard, you really can’t. It’s the whole world, you just, play off of life. I think it’s the same for what inspires painters and sculptors and people of the arts. It’s the whole world. This is a magic place.”

When asked how he comes up with song ideas…

A picture I drew of the King of Pop in 1995

“I’ve always that said I don’t write my own songs because I feel I’m just a source, just a tunnel, through into which they come, I think somewhere in space they’ve all been written before – I mean, Billie Jean and Beat it, and, all those songs have been up there somewhere and just, came through to me, that’s how I really feel. But, I… Even though I did it, I can’t always take credit. It’s like any great artist I guess. Leonardo DaVinci, I mean, he’s doing it, but there’s some other higher force that’s making it happen. (smiles) It’s a wonderful day!”

And, possibly his most famous quote (in my opinion)…

“If you enter this world knowing you are loved and you leave this world knowing the same, then everything that happens in between can be dealt with.”

For someone to be able to say these things indicates great intelligence, knowledge about what is important, and proves he was extremely in tune with the planet, life and the spiritual wonders that come with it.

It should be said, Michael Jackson did know what he was talking about in the title quote. The molestation charges were known worldwide, and he and a number of onlookers who knew and saw past it realised that “Print does not equal Gospel”. For those who missed the update of the two-decade-old story (Jordan Chandler etc) the “victim” finally admitted what the Jackson family were trying to tell people all alongIT WAS ALL A LIE. It was the greed of Chandler’s father that led him to forcing his son to LIE about an innocent man, potentially nicer than anyone that is walking the Earth right now. People, the public, nationwide wasted no time in jumping on a bandwagon and accusing this poor guy of doing a crime he could not even bear to believe was actually committed in the real world. These people, the majority really, played right into the media’s hands. They effectively printed a lie on paper after paper, filling pages every day, and the world believed it. How dumb must those believers in their hoardes feel now? Stories would come out, providing evidence against the charges, but they were printed in a tiny area of space lost inside a huge newspaper. It was clear what the media wanted to do, in my personal opinion. An African-American superstar that has earned America in particular all of this money. He was away on tour. They printed out as much negativity as they could, as a way of making money from him AGAIN. They exploited him through the power of negative press. Would stories proving he was innocent sell as well? Surely not, they must have thought, and I guess it isn’t what the terrible mass media wanted to write about anyway. As Michael said himself, “People write negative things, ’cause they feel that’s what sells. Good news to them, doesn’t sell.” But I don’t want to talk about that anymore 🙂

But my point above is that the kid admitted he was lying about the whole thing and was deeply apologetic. And Michael knew it was a lie, but he didn’t hate him for it. In his eyes, children are completely innocent. It is the influence of adults, the corruption that many adults have allowed into their minds that override the poor child’s ability to stick to what is good. And I do agree with that.

I think I am almost done here, but I want to say something. For people, some people, to sit and ferociously attack someone in most of the years they were alive is just disrespectful. But to do it when they have passed, is the mother of all sins I think. I am extremely sensitive to people bullying others, I hate it, because, as cheese as it is for a 21st century young person to say this, I genuinely view everyone, every human, as part of each other’s family (“We are all a part of God’s great big family” – I’m sorry, I won’t keep quoting him) and it really upsets me when I, or anyone else, is treated badly. Loving comes so naturally yet we have managed to condition our brains to think that we must only love our family (TRUE, by the way), our other half’s when we meet them, and everyone else is either the enemy, or a mockery canvas, upon which anyone can hurl paints of abuse and completely damage their reputation, their self-worth, their zest and love for life. What right do we have? I have never met Michael Jackson but I know he suffered for no reason, I couldn’t handle seeing him do so much for the world, for the children – who are the planet’s FUTURE, by the way – and receive this horrific treatment from the planet’s present. Ew.

This Is It - Image from Google

I cannot say I have ever been a fan of someone’s “personality” before, or ever will be, but I think that is how I feel about MJ. I’m aware that ‘Truth’ in this case is ONE person’s word against ANOTHER person’s word, but just look at the track record of the media, vs. the track record of Michael Jackson. A humanitarian before a human. A veteran before a teenager. He was a good kid. He didn’t swear. He didn’t sleep around. He had his religious foundations (raised a Jehovah’s Witness, as I was.) He blossomed into a loving human being with his eyes opened wider than 98% of the people around him. He understood things weren’t right, and wanted to change them, to help, to heal the world we live in, and save them for our children. Does that sound like a criminal to you?

Finally I would like to say I pray he is resting peacefully. He received so many blessings which were enough to carry him through life on a pedestal since his performing career began at 5, and eventually propelled him to being known as the Greatest Entertainer that ever lived. It is a shame such a sensitive and appreciative man had to endure what he did, but he continued on his path of good. He deserves a rest now.

May you rest in peace.

Leave a comment