T”why”LIGHT?

It is that time of year again – when the new Twilight: Breaking Dawn Pt. 1 film comes out on DVD. For those of you that don’t know, the release date was the 12th of this month (Monday).

I have never been able to sit through any form of fake program such as horrors, werewolfs – the only thing I could just about sit through was Michael Jackson‘s Thriller video, if that even counts? Having fought tooth and nail to NOT fall victim to the clutches of Twilight, Harry Potter, or any of these daft longwinded mystical make-believe stories – It was Twilight that got me. I was exposed and I never looked back. As soon as I watched Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse over two days, THEN Breaking Dawn Pt. 1 the following day, I have been hooked. I just enjoy it now, and I can’t for the life of me understand why someone who hates all of this fakery can find it SO appealing.

I really want to try and understand why people find it SO damn appealing – what is it about Twilight that makes most of us humans prepare to humiliate ourselves screaming and just generally get far too excited? Is it the vampire and werewolves storyline which we find insanely gripping or is it in fact the human nature aspect of it?

A situation that I guess every teenage/young woman would love to find themselves in – caught in the middle of a fierce, mysterious love triangle, with two gorgeous men who would do anything for her. Bad boys who never smile. Aggressive, yet tame and sensitive. They would do more than merely catch a grenade for you. They would wrestle wolves on some crazy steroids for you. They would wipe out the ‘immortal’ blood sucking vampires for you. They would run really fast with naked torsos and loads of hair wax. For you. Perfect…

Love Triangle

… But I don’t actually care about any of that

I guess I will never know what it is about Twilight that made me pre order it at HMV and actually travel all the way home to watch it. I can’t lie, just writing about it has made me want to watch it. I guess it’s a guilty pleasure… And I don’t know whether to laugh or cry about it.

Leave a comment